Seite auf Deutsch anzeigenSwitch to English

This Is Roller Derby!

Roller Derby is a fast, full contact sport with lots of power. Speed, team spirit, and a tough attitude, often reflected in the derby names of the skaters, are characteristic for this sport.

But there is no Roller Derby without the roller girls – tough women who strap on their skates to compete in a spectacular race and are not afraid of bruises. This extraordinary sport first emerged in the USA in the 1920s. Since then, loud music, crazy outfits, and lots of fun are what makes this sport what it is. Recently, Roller Derby has experienced a come-back in Europe, introducing a whole new generation of roller girls and roller boys.

Rules and Teams

During a game, there are five skaters of each team on the track, one jammer and four blockers who make up the pack. Every time the jammer passes the opposing blockers, she scores points for her team. At the same time, the blockers try to keep the opposing jammer from rounding the pack, while helping their own jammer get through.

Since 2004, the WFTDA (Women's Flat Track Derby Association) has been the governing organization which sets rules and determines guidelines for the sport. There are already more than 100 successful Roller Derby leagues in the USA. In Germany, too, the sport is becoming more and more popular. Not only big cities such as Munich, Hamburg, or Berlin, but also smaller towns like Freiburg or Wuppertal have a team of their own.

Who Can Join a Roller Derby Team?

No matter how experienced or physically fit you are, in Roller Derby, there is a place for everyone. What is important is that you are at least 18 years old and fearless. Minor bruises are part of the game and are usually carried with pride. Team spirit and commitment are another important part of belonging to a Roller Derby team. Men are also welcome to join the Munich Rolling Rebels – as coaches, referees, and helpers.

© 2014 Munich Rolling Rebels

Find Us On derbyposition.com!
TSV 1860 München - Abteilung Roller Derby

Seite auf Deutsch anzeigenSwitch to English

Das ist Roller Derby!

Roller Derby ist ein rasanter Vollkontaktsport mit viel Power. Schnelligkeit, Teamgeist und eine gewisse Toughness, die sich oft in den Derby Namen widerspiegelt, sind charakteristisch für den Sport auf acht Rollen.

Spricht man von Roller Derby, so spricht man aber auch von den Roller Girls - starke Frauen die sich auf ihren Rollschuhen spektakuläre Rennen liefern und dabei auch vor blauen Flecken nicht zurückschrecken. Diese ungewöhnliche Sportart kam bereits in den Zwanzigerjahren in den USA auf. Laute Musik, schrille Outfits und eine große Portion Spaß bestimmen seitdem diesen Sport. Seit einigen Jahren erlebt Roller Derby nun in Europa ein großes Revival mit einer neuen Generation von Roller Girls und Roller Boys.

Regeln und Teams

Jedes Team tritt in einer Aufstellung mit 14 Spielerinnen an. Davon befinden sich jeweils fünf Spielerinnen pro Team gleichzeitig auf dem Track: eine Jammerin und vier Blockerinnen, die zusammen mit den gegnerischen Blockerinnen das Pack bilden. Punkte sammelt die Jammerin durch überholen der Blocker (1 Blocker = 1 Punkt) Die Aufgabe der Blockerinnen ist es, die Jammerin des anderen Teams durch Hits und Blocks davon abzuhalten Punkte zu sammeln und gleichzeitig die eigene Jammerin durchzulotsen.

Seit 2004 fungiert die WFTDA (Womens’ Flat Track Derby Association) als Dachorganisation und Regelwächter. In den USA gibt es inzwischen schon weit über hundert erfolgreiche Roller Derby Teams und auch in Deutschland wird der Sport immer beliebter. Dabei sind nicht nur Metropolen wie München, Hamburg oder Berlin, sondern auch Städte wie Wuppertal und Freiburg mit Teams vertreten.

Für wen ist Roller Derby das Richtige?

Egal welche Vorkenntnisse du mitbringst oder welche Konstitution du hast, im Roller Derby findet jede ihren Platz. Wichtig ist, dass du mindestens 18 Jahre alt, unerschrocken und nicht allzu zimperlich bist. Blaue Flecken gehören schließlich dazu und werden oft mit Stolz getragen. Außerdem sind uns Teamfähigkeit und Engagement sehr wichtig. Männer sind bei uns natürlich auch willkommen – als Trainer, Schiedsrichter und Helfer auf acht Rollen.

© 2014 Munich Rolling Rebels

Find Us On derbyposition.com!
TSV 1860 München - Abteilung Roller Derby